Athletic Hall of Fame Scholarships Presented at 2013 Ed Arnold Golf Classic

Four of the scholarship winners were recognized at the Ed Arnold Golf Classic. They were joined by SAC President Erlinda Martinez (center). From left to right, Kevin Ramirez, Berlin Ohanesian, Devon Rodriguez and Tyler Cordell.

MISSION VIEJO - During the awards dinner at the 2013 Ed Arnold Golf Classic, the Athletic Hall of Fame Scholarships presented by First American Foundation were awarded to transferring student-athletes from Santa Ana College.

The annual scholarships, each worth $1,500, are awarded to transferring student-athletes as well as the Male and Female Scholar Athletes of the Year.

This year's recipients were Male Scholar Athlete of the Year Tyler Cordell (football), Female Scholar Athlete of the Year Yesenia Fonseca (women's soccer), JB Bryant (baseball), Eryn Martinez (softball), Berlin Ohanesian (women's basketball), Kevin Ramirez (men's basketball) and Devon Rodriguez (softball).

Rodriguez, who will be transferring to the University of Buffalo, spoke on behalf of the student-athletes.

"Thank you for all that you do to make our dreams possible for all of us, " Rodriguez said. "We are all very grateful for the scholarships and all of your support."

Funds for the annual scholarships come from donations, sponsorship and money raised at the Ed Arnold Golf Classic. To date, the Santa Ana College Foundation has awarded $69,500 in scholarships through the Athletic Hall of Fame.