15 Dons Awarded Postseason Honors, Nyssen Named Coach of the Year

15 Dons Awarded Postseason Honors, Nyssen Named Coach of the Year

SANTA ANA, Calif. – With their best season since 2012, the Santa Ana College Football team has been awarded 15 student-athletes taking home postseason awards in the American Metro League as well as Dons Head Coach Adam Nyssen being named Coach of the Year.

Highlighting the list of Dons that took postseason honors is sophomore quarterback Conner Miller who was named Metro League Offensive Player of the year. Miller ranked third in the state in passing yards (2,952) and passing touchdowns (28) to go along with three rushing touchdowns on the season.

Other notable Dons include sophomores Deven Boston and Devon Jackson Jr. Boston rushed for 1,243 total yards, which was the second most in the state, and scored 17 touchdowns on the ground for third in the state. Jackson Jr. also impressed with 1,270 receiving yards, ranking him second in the state, and caught the most touchdowns with 14 on the season.

On defense, the Dons standouts were Brandon Legendre, who was by far the league's best pass rusher with 13 sacks on the year, and Anthony Koclanakis, as he racked up a league-high 81 total tackles.

Nine total Dons were named to the league's first team while six were placed on the second team all-league.

For Coach Nyssen, 2017 was his most successful season yet. In his first full season as Head Coach in 2016, he led the Dons to a 5-5 overall record and a second-place finish in the Metro League. Santa Ana improved to 7-4 overall this year with an undefeated Metro League record (6-0), earning their first Metro League Championship ever and the first bowl appearance since 2012.

For the complete list of 2017 American Metro League post-season awards click here.